August 15th, 2012
07:39 PM ET

Controversy over early voting hours somewhat settled in Ohio

After heavy criticism, Ohio's Secretary of State has ordered all 88 counties in the state to abide by the same early voting rules and hours.

Before tonight's announcement, the four counties containing the state's major cities – Cleveland, Akron, Toledo, and Columbus – were denied extended hours for early voting. All voted for Barack Obama in 2008. But two other counties were approved for extended early voting, both of which went to John McCain in 2008.

Was this just a bad coincidence, or something more sinister, as Democrats are claiming? OutFront to discuss are John Avlon, senior columnist with Newsweek/The Daily Beast; and CNN contributors Roland Martin and Reihan Salam.

Filed under: Crime • Election 2012 • Politics
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.